Uralic fonts for Windows

The Uralic fonts for Windows contain additional letters used in most Uralic languages with Russian-based writing systems - Khanty (all dialects), Komi, Mansi (without marking long vowels), Mari, Nenets, Selkup and Udmurt. According to Musayev, the fonts also support Altai, Chukchi, Even, Evenki, Koryak and Nanai.

Additional letters

Additional letters

The encoding of the fonts is based on the model of the Cyrillic Asian encoding. The Russian alphabet occupies the place of the Latin-1 supplement in the Western (Windows CP 1252) encoding and its own Unicode positions in the Cyrillic (CP 1251) encoding. Additional Uralic letters can be found in three places - instead of additional characters in the Western encoding, instead of additional characters in the Cyrillic encoding and in their own Unicode positions (with the exceptions of those letters that are not found in this standard). Existing Mari and Udmurt fonts were taken into consideration while distributing positions, but incorporating their encodings did not prove possible. Eventually, Udmurt fonts were used as the starting point. See the test page for details.

Additional letters can be written by using special keyboards for Windows 95/98/ME (based on the Windows 1251 code page) and Windows NT4/2000/XP. For the latter we offer keyboard layouts based on the Unicode standard as well as non-standard layouts based on the Windows 1251 code page. Texts created in the Cyrillic encoding can be transferred into Unicode by using a converter.

The original fonts were created by URW++, the Cyrillic part by Valek Filippov, and were modified by Esa Anttikoski. These fonts can be distributed and modified freely in accordance with the GNU General Public License.

We take no responsability for any possible damage that might occure while installing and using the fonts. Send your comments and suggestions to Esa.Anttikoski@joensuu.fi

Musaev K.M. Jazyki i pis'mennosti narodov Evrazii (regiona byvshego SSSR). Almaty:ylym, 1993.

Created by Esa.Anttikoski@joensuu.fi